Last visit was: It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 3:32 pm


All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: ECM-1240 counter questions
PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 7:42 pm 

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 11:11 am
Posts: 127
jfisher wrote:
I am also trying to get the pulse counter to work. When shorted it out by putting a resistor between the Gnd and Aux 5 inputs, it is still registering 150+ pulses per second, without the flow meter even connected.
As far as I can tell we have done everything right and are getting around 150 pulses per second on the engine g software. In another setup it was constantly changing between 60 pulses per second and 100 pulses per second. None of this is correct because the pulse counter we are using is for natural gas and is 1 pulse/cubic foot. We are running air through it which should give us around 1 pulse per second.

Any ideas what might be going on? It seems to be a problem with the ECM 1240.


If you wish to use AUX 5 for pulse counting, you must set the AUX5 option for pulse counting then click the "Reboot" button (all under the ECM-1240 Setup tab). You can cycle the power to the ECM-1240 instead of clicking "Reboot".

If this is not done, any stray noise on the AUX 5 input will be interpreted as AC current and the WS counter will increment at a high rate.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ECM-1240 counter questions
PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 7:45 pm 

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 11:11 am
Posts: 127
Ira wrote:
jfisher wrote:
I am also trying to get the pulse counter to work. When shorted it out by putting a resistor between the Gnd and Aux 5 inputs, it is still registering 150+ pulses per second, without the flow meter even connected.
As far as I can tell we have done everything right and are getting around 150 pulses per second on the engine g software. In another setup it was constantly changing between 60 pulses per second and 100 pulses per second. None of this is correct because the pulse counter we are using is for natural gas and is 1 pulse/cubic foot. We are running air through it which should give us around 1 pulse per second.

Any ideas what might be going on? It seems to be a problem with the ECM 1240.


What kind of meter are you using for your NG usage? Do you have a link to one on the web? I have two LPG tanks (one 250 gallon tank for my home and a 500 gallon tank for my genset) that I would like to monitor.

Ira


You can check with this company. They do have a low-cost water meter: http://www.buygpi.com/minomess130reside ... meter.aspx


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ECM-1240 counter questions
PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 8:56 pm 

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 11:11 am
Posts: 127
Ira wrote:
What kind of meter are you using for your NG usage? Do you have a link to one on the web? I have two LPG tanks (one 250 gallon tank for my home and a 500 gallon tank for my genset) that I would like to monitor.

Ira


The Gallus 2000 gas meter may be used for natural or LP gas and has a pulse O/P

http://norgas.com/metering.htm


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ECM-1240 counter questions
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2010 3:12 pm 

Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2010 5:59 pm
Posts: 12
We are using the IMAC Ester AMCO G4 http://www.imacsystems.com/bkg4-g4-meter.pdf


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ECM-1240 counter questions
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2010 6:32 pm 

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 11:11 am
Posts: 127
jfisher wrote:
We are using the IMAC Ester AMCO G4 http://www.imacsystems.com/bkg4-g4-meter.pdf


What is the approximate cost for these? I should note that Ben will include options for gas and water in the new version of the software.

Paul


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ECM-1240 counter questions
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2010 7:11 pm 

Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 11:06 am
Posts: 38
paulb wrote:
jfisher wrote:
We are using the IMAC Ester AMCO G4 http://www.imacsystems.com/bkg4-g4-meter.pdf


What is the approximate cost for these? I should note that Ben will include options for gas and water in the new version of the software.

Paul


This place has them for about $160. They have other larger, more expensive ones, too. They are also on eBay.

If you "back up" a page or two on the link that jfisher provided to get to the listing of all the gas meters that company offers, it shows this one as being "indoor only".

Ira


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ECM-1240 counter questions
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2010 7:31 pm 

Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 11:06 am
Posts: 38
Paul,

Since I don't know the pulse duty cycle for the flow meter (so I don't know how "fast" the relay needs to be), and I don't know if the flow meter or softener electronics would be negatively affected by the draw on the circuit that the relay coil would cause, my best chance may be the "diode" route. Is it really as simple as the diagram looks? Just run a tap off the flow meter's ground lead to the AUX5's ground terminal, and run a tap off the flow meter's signal lead to one side of the diode and connect the other side of the diode to the AUX5's "AUX5" terminal?

Regarding pulse duty cycle? What are the requirements as far as minimum pulse width, etc.? Does it matter if the pulse width changes due to increase/decrease in flow?

How's the divider circuit diagram coming along? :)

Thanks,
Ira


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ECM-1240 counter questions
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2010 9:34 pm 

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 11:11 am
Posts: 127
If you are using the pulse divider circuit, the duty cycle doesn't matter. I have attached the pulse divider circuit. There is less than $2 worth of parts used in this circuit.

Paul


Attachments:
Pulse Isolator.png
Pulse Isolator.png [ 134.77 KiB | Viewed 3656 times ]
Pulse divider.png
Pulse divider.png [ 227.08 KiB | Viewed 3656 times ]
Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ECM-1240 counter questions
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2010 11:15 pm 

Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 11:06 am
Posts: 38
Thanks Paul,

I think I can probably build these.

I am a little confused though. The first diagram is for the isolator. The second is for the divider. Do I use both if I want both isolation and a divider, or does the divider circuit have isolation built into it, too? If I need both, how do they fit together?

Thanks,
Ira


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ECM-1240 counter questions
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 4:40 pm 

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 11:11 am
Posts: 127
I should have explained this..... The opto circuit is not related to the divider. I included the opto circuit because the one in an earlier post had not component values assigned.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net & kodeki